CNA Classes in Georgia
CNA applicants in the state of
Georgia must be at least eighteen (18) years old, and must have completed high school and received their high
school diploma, or have completed and received their GED. They must pass a drug screening test, and must not have a
criminal background. They must receive a negative result on their TB test.There is a minimum
requirement of eighty-five (85) hours of instruction in Georgia. The instruction must be broken down between
classroom lectures and clinical training. The state of Georgia does not mandate how those hours are divided. The
Georgia Board of Nursing oversees the approved programs in the state. Most of the CNA training programs in Georgia
provide for more than the required eighty-five (85) hours, and actually provide from one hundred (100) to one
hundred and fifty (150) hours worth of instruction. Upon completion of an approved program, applicant will be
permitted to take the state certification examination.
All approved programs must teach at least
subjects relating to patient care, HIPPA laws, patient rights, vital signs, medical assisting, and more.
Instruction is carried out by instructors who are also registered nurses.
Program cost will differentiate,
but will usually be anywhere from $700 to $1800.